Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Christmas Eve - December 24

Much of today has been spent sorting through some things, in search of something I've misplaced. The misplaced item (which is not irreplaceable) is still not found, but much clutter is gone, and that's always a good thing. As I told some friends earlier, I'll either find the thing or I'll have cleaned the whole apartment before declaring it Officially Not Here. Either way it's fine.

I've also spent some of that sorting time remembering Christmas Eves past. I have some lovely memories of spending time with friends and family, and going to church services. I've written before about one memorable Christmas Eve service back home, when it was unusually cold and blustery, and the traditional candlelight singing of Silent Night didn't get all the way outside the church.

I remember that one particularly because the sermon had been about love, and apparently most of us took that to heart as we stood there in the large narthex after the last verse of the song. There were more people hugging each other than usual, and the voices wishing each other a Merry Christmas were not hurried or mechanical. The spirit of love was present.

May the spirit of love be present for you and yours this Christmas season.

Merry Christmas!

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies