Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Angel Redux - December 18

Angel from Aunt Rebecca

A few years ago, I wrote of the tiny wooden angel that had belonged to my Aunt Rebecca. And that angel is in the above photograph, standing on the piano which also came from Aunt Rebecca.

I know people don't always follow links, so I'm repeating (with some tiny editing) that entry below. At the time I wrote it, the angel's size, the light, and the camera I was using at the time would not cooperate to let me get a decent photo. But since I love the little angel so much, and since she reminds me so much of the love between Aunt Rebecca and me, I decided she would definitely get her picture made when I had a chance.

* * * * * * * * * * *

In this entry, I mentioned there were several special relatives I think of on All Saints' Day. One of those is my Aunt Rebecca, for whom I'm named.

When I was a little girl, she showed me a tiny wooden angel. She said she had bought it because it reminded her of me. And I loved it. It was a special item that in many ways represented the love we had for each other.

During the last weeks of her life, Aunt Rebecca was hospitalized. We knew she was dying, and really didn't expect her to be able to go home again.

I was afraid that the tiny angel would get lost in the shuffle of friends and relatives coming to her house, so I slipped it in my pocket and took it home with me. My mother knew I had it, and that if Aunt Rebecca did happen to get to go home, it would be quite easy to put the angel back where she usually kept it.

Sadly, she didn't get home again. And the tiny angel has been my companion all these years. The angel lives on a shelf in my living room, beside my piano...which Aunt Rebecca also gave me.

Every time I see the tiny angel, I remember my aunt, whose presence in my life brought me great joy.

Text and photograph � copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies