Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Um, No - December 17

Oy. I've just had to turn down what would have been a lucrative offer. The original request was to copy a baby blanket. I asked for more information, because my spidey sense said this was too easy.

And I was right. I was being asked by someone who didn't want to wait for the original designer's waiting list for a blanket that is being offered for sale.

In my turndown, I suspect I wound up sounding like I was preaching the a sermon from the Book of the Copyright. Not the legalities of it, because I'm not an attorney, but the morals of it, which I can address as someone who takes the whole thing pretty damned seriously.

I did go on to suggest that my potential customer suggest to the designer that there could also be money made in selling the pattern/instructions, so that people could either make their own or hire someone to make the item.

Of course, if the designer does start selling the pattern, I'd be happy to serve as the crochet equivalent of a dressmaker (as in, you provide the bought pattern to me, and I'll make the thing).

This year's set of requests for things I can't do for people (I have gotten a lot of requests from people who don't quite know which needlework item is which) may go down in my history as an all-time high. At least some of them have been good journal fodder!

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies