Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Estimate - December 13

I got a request tonight from someone for an estimate of how much time it would take me to make a scarf by a specific pattern for his wife. I'm thinking he probably wanted the thing for Christmas, but there's no way that could happen at this late date.

So I looked at a picture of the item (the pattern would have to be bought) and replied that it would probably take me a month, and that the work couldn't start before the first of the year.

I might be able to get the thing finished a little faster, but the pattern he wants used is one with a lot of connected motifs (think those paper dolls where each doll is attached at the hands to the ones on either side).

I couldn't tell from looking at the picture (the pattern itself would need to be bought) exactly how those motifs were connected. That would play a large role in determining how long the work would take.

Anyway, I think he was really hoping I'd say something like, "I can be finished by tomorrow afternoon, in time to get it in the outgoing mail!" He hasn't replied to me, and I won't be terribly surprised if he doesn't place the order!

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies