Becky Says...

December 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Home - December 12

The other day I needed to go to downtown Chapel Hill. I had several destinations on Franklin Street, then headed back to the bus stop.

When I got to the stop I realized I had missed a bus by about five minutes, and had about forty-five minutes before the next bus was due. So I decided to treat myself to lunch.

If you know downtown Chapel Hill you'll know that the choices are overabundant for lunch places. But I knew, with no thought at all, where I wanted to eat. I went to the counter at Sutton's Drugstore.

I haven't been there for lunch in years. I used to eat there nearly every day when I worked downtown, but then my life changed and has done so several times since. There have been some personnel changes, and some additions to the menu. There are also booths now, in addition to the counter itself. But by and large, the experience is the same.

I am so glad I took myself to lunch. It's the first "normal" thing I've done in a very long time. And no matter that I haven't been there in a long time, some of the people who worked in the store then are still there, and they told me I was home. And I was.

You can believe I'll do that again.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky


Holidailies