Becky Says...

September 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Audience - September 30

Last night I watched my favorite episode of "Dr. Who," which happens to be "Father's Day," in which Rose and the Ninth Doctor go back to the day when Rose's father died . I won't spoil it if you don't know the story, but I will say that those of you who know my story probably can figure out why that episode resonates so strongly with me.

Anyway, still pondering the story, I was sitting in my apartment with one of the windows open and all of a sudden I found myself audience to a very loud argument being held in the parking lot just across from my building. I'm not sure how many people were involved, but I did hear quite a few different voices.

I am not sure what started it, but it had to do with someone getting hurt, and I gathered it was the hurt-feelings sense of that word. I paid enough attention to know that I didn't need to call the police (which I would have done in an instant had that been necessary). Yes, they were disturbing the peace, but I can't exactly claim they woke me.

Once the human voices began to settle down, there came the barks of a dog. I am almost convinced that wasn't a live performance, because something (I'm not sure what, exactly) made it sound like a recording. I did not feel the need to investigate, but I wonder if it was another neighbor's way of announcing displeasure with the whole arguing crowd.

Silence, when it once again reigned, was definitely welcome.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I was reminded recently that I hadn't told everyone something...I am indeed taking the bus both ways when I'm going grocery shopping these days. I don't ever want to have another episode of heat exhaustion, which was my first reason. But I may well continue this, even in colder weather.

Taking the bus both ways only adds about half an hour to the outing (over taking the bus there and walking home), and it's worth it not to worry about the heat or the state of the unpaved section of the path. The plus is that I'm not so tired when I get home.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky