Becky Says...

September 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Contact - September 6

I have accounts at Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, MySpace, and several other places that are now offering their users the option of having the site go through the user's address book and send invitations.

I've already noted that I think this is a particularly bad thing to do, and that I would never give anyone my e-mail passwords. In light of a recent problem several of my friends have had after giving over their passwords, I'm reiterating.

Yes, I know you can and should change passwords fairly often. But I still think it's a bad, bad idea to hand one over, and to allow access to your e-mail contacts.

So I'm going to say flatly that if you want to connect with me at those places, and don't know how to find me on the site itself, ask me privately. It's really best if you don't give the place what you think is my e-mail address, because I use different ones for different sites, and you probably don't know which one I use where. I'll give you the appropriate e-mail or tell you my user name on the site.

I truly value my privacy, in this increasingly un-private world. I value your privacy, too. I won't invade yours, and hope you don't invade mine.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky