Becky Says...

August 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Traffic - August 31

I've mentioned my friend Eric and his play, The Wedding Consultant, before. I've had the pleasure of seeing a promo clip from the show, and the clip is now available on YouTube. It's a tough call, but I'm thinking this is probably not safe for workplace viewing.

Eric is one of the funniest people I know. The clip is well worth watching.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Chapel Hill is getting used to the massive population increase known as Fall Semester, and so far things seem to be going pretty well. One major difference this fall is that the roadwork that usually is completed by the beginning of the semester got delayed, at least in part because of the extremely hot weather. So traffic is a little disrupted, or a lot disrupted, depending on how late one is running getting out the door.

Traffic being the connection here, one of my neighbors gets to go play in it, for real. He operates a wrecker for one of the busier service stations in town, and on his on-call nights we are serenaded by the back-up beep as he comes and goes. The noise isn't particularly loud, but he parks close enough to my apartment that if I've turned off the television, etc., I'm able to hear it.

The first couple of times I heard it, I looked out, because the other vehicle back-up beep I sometimes hear at night is a fire truck. There is a hydrant across the parking lot from me, and (on the rare occasions) when there's reason to have firefighters in the complex, one of the trucks is usually stationed at that hydrant and is often in reverse gear. When that happens, I usually look out to see where the action is, to see if I need to start planning to leave.

Now, unless I happen to be standing near the window, I listen for a few more beeps. If they stop, and no red lights are flashing, I assume it's my neighbor with the wrecker and don't bother to look.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky