Becky Says...

June 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Friday Update - June 1

I love spring. Second to that, I love summer. But apparently I've gotten to a point in life where I need to remind myself that summer afternoons in Chapel Hill can be brutally hot, and that I need to do my things earlier in the day if they involve much time outside.

Yesterday's shopping trip nearly ended badly, because I got overheated on the way home (very little shade) and needed the help of a neighbor to get the last little bit. Also, my ankle was acting up, and my shoe sole coming loose (rubber-soled sandals). I was absolutely fine (except the ankle, which is becoming a chronic problem, it seems) once I got in the house.

I'm grateful for the neighbor's help, and for finding a shady place to sit and drink water (which I had taken with me). At the same time, I'd rather not have to have that kind of help again.

So the week. I worked pretty steadily through it, then took yesterday afternoon to do chores and errands. I did pay attention to the news.

In case you missed this, there is now a Billy Graham library, in Charlotte. It's built in the shape of a dairy barn, and comes complete with a talking cow. Son Franklin announced it was a ministry. Me, I think it's a $27 million tourist trap. It is not on my list of must-sees.

But then again, I don't like either Billy or Franklin. I've already said so, here.

This has also been the week when I've acknowledged my apparently normal for me late-May depression bout. It's not as bad as some years, but I've had to fight my inner perfectionist and that pesky "you're a failure" demon. I'm glad I recognize both, and have means to fight.

And this week I've been thinking a lot about my father. Today would have been his 101st birthday. The emphasis on World War II this Memorial Day week has played into it, in that in the family archives there is a newspaper picture of Daddy on KP duty, doing his part in the war effort peeling potatoes. I haven't seen the clipping in a long time, but I still remember the smile.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky