Becky Says...

April 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday in Sound - April 29

The up-till-then unremarkable morning was interrupted by two people at my door. announcing they were looking for Hispanic people to invite to church, then apologizing to me. I'm thinking that just might be the most bizarre invitation (non-invitation?) to church I've ever received.

Then came the car alarm. It wasn't close enough to me to be headache-provoking, just enough that my actions were adjusting to its rhythm. Think marching band if that sentence doesn't make sense! The alarm finally stopped, after several choruses.

After thinking about that, I wonder if there would be a market for personal car alarms. One where a voice would start saying, "I am (owner's name)'s car, and you do not have his/her permission to touch me! I demand that you step away from the vehicle!"

Yes, I know it would be as annoying as horns blowing in rhythm. But it would be different!

Later in the day came the major noise. Two young men were working on the CD changer in one's car. They had pulled a speaker from somewhere and placed said speaker on the sidewalk. The volume? Full blast, of course. Which was definitely loud enough to be heard in the next galaxy.

It's not unusual for someone to drive by with loud music going, especially on a lovely day. That loudness I don't particularly mind, because it is fleeting. I went looking, though, because this was not fleeting. All it took for me to find the source was to step outside. And that's how I know what was going on.

I came back inside and checked the time, since I had told myself I'd give them a few minutes to get through before I actually went out to shout my annoyance over the volume. Luckily for all concerned, they did get through before the deadline.

And after that, sweet, wonderful quiet. Nothing loud to be heard. No more strays at my door. In fact, it was quiet enough for a long nap. So I did.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky