Becky Says...

April 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Contrasting View - April 25

Unlike many, I was surprised to learn that Rosie O'Donnell won't be coming back to "The View." Also unlike many, I'm glad to hear it.

I'm not a fan of hers, and haven't been since she lit into Tom Selleck a few years ago. And for the record, I never have been a gun owner nor am I a fan of the National Rifle Association. But more than that, I hated what I saw as bad manners.

Not that I think Tom was exceptionally well-behaved on that show, either, but she started it.

There have been things she's done that I've really admired. Her wanting to have a show resembling the good qualities of the show done by late Mike Douglas (who was a guest on her show). Her defense of Madonna. Her adopting children. Her coming out. All those are good things, and I'm probably forgetting more than I'm remembering.

But then came the attack session where she called Kelli Ripa homophobic because of a comment Kelli made about Clay Aiken's hand on her mouth. Um, no, it's not homophobic to say you don't know where someone's hand has been. Frankly, I'm not going to let you put your hand on my mouth without comment, no matter your orientation.

And then the kerfluffle with Donald Trump. I think the escalation of that was stupid and wrong on both sides. But folks, she lit into him for giving someone a second chance. Whether he did it to gain some nice-guy points I don't know, nor do I care. He did a right and good thing by standing by someone who clearly needed rehabilitation.

So no, I don't like Rosie's bullying, over-the-top style. I won't miss her when she quits being on "The View," especially since I've made a point of not watching it since the Kelli Ripa thing.

I realize there are a lot of detractors of hers who've seemed to make a career this year out of criticizing everything she did. I don't like their style, either.

I wish Rosie the best of luck in whatever she does next. But I hope she takes some manners along for the ride.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky