Becky Says...

April 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thoughts - April 16

I can't begin to know what to say about the shootings at Virginia Tech. My sympathies are with all the people there and with the families and friends of the dead.

And my sympathies are also with all the people who have had to contend with bad weather today. In this part of North Carolina there has been a lot of wind damage. My apartment complex is fine, but nearby neighborhoods are without power and probably will be overnight.

There are other parts of the state in similar situations.

I had to run an errand this afternoon and got a chance to see just how much damage there had been along parts of my bus route. One of the first things of note on the route was that it had to be altered to skip a street that had a downed tree.

We saw the reason for the power being out for those neighborhoods I mentioned: a tree was down and its fall against several power lines had taken them, and the top third of the power pole, down also.

Rains of late played into the trees being uprooted. There were plenty of snapped branches, too, courtesy of wind gusts. The wind also stirred up plenty of pollen, including much that had settled from the rain.

The mood in downtown Chapel Hill was somber. I suspect I was not the only person remembering the rampage of Wendell Williamson in light of the events at Virginia Tech. And I'm sure I was not the only person wondering how our neighbors were faring in terms of power and downed trees.

My hope this night is for peace and safety, for my neighbors, for the folks in Virginia, and for all.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky