Becky Says...

April 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thoughts - April 12

It's over. The Attorney General of the State of North Carolina has dismissed the remaining charges against the three young men who were falsely accused of various crimes against a woman named Crystal Mangum. Yes, that's her name, and yes, she falsely accused these men of rape (then she backed away from that one), kidnapping, and sexual assault.

The Attorney General, Roy Cooper, said that criminal charges will not be brought against her. He mentioned there being sealed files. He said those from his office who have interviewed her think she truly believes the various versions of her ever-changing story.

Three people who have always been innocent of wrongdoing in this case have been declared just that. The Attorney General knows the difference in meaning between "not guilty" and "innocent." And he used the "i" word.

You most likely also know that Durham's District Attorney, Mike Nifong, is now having to defend himself on ethics charges brought by the State Bar.

You can find all sorts of references to the problems about the photo lineup and to the problems regarding the DNA findings. I suggest a visit to your favorite search engine if you want a refresher. Or go to WRAL's extensive archive. I particularly suggest you watch the videos of the news conferences, in which many of those directly involved speak for themselves.

When I sat down to write this entry, I thought I had a lot more that I needed to say. Except for saying that I definitely agree with Mr. Cooper's take, it turns out I don't.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky