Becky Says...

March 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Kerflooey - March 7

I wondered what else was going to go kerflooey today after an early-morning power outage. That one lasted a couple of hours, based on how wrong the clock was when power was restored. While there was no power, I did one thing appropriate to do under the circumstances...I went back to sleep.

After I got up and collected my wits, along with some e-mail and some brunch, I went out to run an errand. I left the snail mail to be retrieved on the way back. That turned out to be a very good idea, because there was something in the mail that pissed me off.

It was a letter from a drug company I don't know of, offering to include me (by name) in a clinical trial of a new treatment for a medical condition I don't have. They assured me, in fine print, that they had gotten all my personal information from "publicly available information." I'm thinking phone book.

I've never seen such advertising before. Is this something common that I've just managed to miss? If so, I hope I miss any further such attempts because I think it's a pretty sucktastic recruitment method.

In any case, since I definitely don't have the problem they want to remedy, I will not be taking them up on the offer.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky