Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Sixth Day - December 30

On the sixth day of Christmas our day on the East Coast was bracketed by the coverage of Saddam Hussein's death and the funeral of Gerald Ford. And I'm here to be one of the voices saying with absolute certainty that it is appropriate to pray for the repose of the souls of both men, and to ask forgiveness for those who murdered Mr. Hussein.

No, I did not like him at all. I hated his ways of treating his own people. But I hate the death penalty, the state-sanctioned murder of anyone.

And of course I never have thought the USA had any right at all to go into Iraq. I am embarrassed to this day that my country bullied its way into a country where we had no business going. Make that a second country...I didn't think we had any right to invade Afghanistan, either.

Rest in peace, Mr. Hussein.

Later in the day I watched the coverage of Mr. Ford's funeral, and heard the well-deserved tributes to him. And I remembered and was reminded that he was President when the end came to US involvement in the Vietnam War. Don't forget that fact.

I remember how glad I felt when I knew that no more of my friends would be subject to going to Vietnam, and how grateful I was that a collective someone had the presence of mind to bring our troops home.

So it was and is meet and right and salutary that people are paying tribute to Gerald Ford. And I would hope leaders current and future will follow his example.

Rest in peace, Mr. Ford.

May God look with favor upon both men.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies