Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






C is for Cranky - December 5

UNC-TV is having Winterfest, the fundraiser. And on top of the usual annoyances of pre-empting shows for begathon specials and the long pledge breaks where everyone and his brother and their aunts and uncles tells you why you should pledge enough to get the dvd of the show you're trying to watch, they're doing something I think is bad.

They're interrupting children's shows with begging breaks. The station person comes on and says to the kids watching that they should get their parent or caregiver to come to the television set. Then (without pause, by the way) they launch into the pledge spiel.

I think it's really low to ask children to call for a parent for something like this. And I can't imagine how it must be to be the parent or caregiver when the child follows the nice announcer's instruction and calls out, especially if the child is home sick from school or the adult has any other good reason to think the child might be in need of real assistance.

I like the children's shows. I enjoy having them to keep me company while I work. I like public television as an entity. But I hate this tactic. And I hope if parents and caregivers hate it too, they'll let UNC-TV know of their displeasure.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies