Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Winter - December 4

It's gotten colder here. We knew it would, but from the talk about it, you'd think it came as a complete, unpleasant surprise.

And it has been deemed advisable that we have an awareness week about cold weather. Apparently the thought is this will be a bad winter, and we should all stock up on things (like flashlights and blankets and food that doesn't have to be cooked) to get us through power outages.

I have mine already. I've been through some bad winter events here, like the one four years ago (which I didn't realize was exactly four years till I went to get the link) complete with lengthy power outages.

So I'm thinking this awareness week is aimed at newcomers and at those for whom time has erased the bad memories.

All the same, I'm hoping that all the preparation will be like carrying an umbrella means it won't rain. If the worst that happens this winter is that I have to contend with an extra package of batteries, I'll take it.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies