Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Confrontation- December 2

I hate confrontation almost as much as I hate the Boy Scouts of America's attitude toward gay men in terms of the men being scouts, leaders, or in some councils, parents of scouts.

But I know sometimes confrontation can't be avoided, as much as I know also from having seen it the good things Boy Scouting has brought to friends of mine, including at least two of whom happen to be gay men. Even after the ban, by the way. Some councils apparently choose to just ignore that piece of stupidity.

So now is the time of the year when the Boy Scout candy-popcorn-treat products are delivered to those who have placed orders (which I hadn't). And this year, in the same spot in the shopping center usually filled in late February by Girl Scouts selling cookies, there was a young man with a card table full of Boy Scout goodies.

I was absolutely sure I didn't want anything, but I really can't claim a high moral point on this one. I wasn't denying myself anything I wanted.

Even so, I was faced with the potential of having to say something to the young man with the card table. And Lord knew I really did not want to have to have the conversation, in which I would have said why I couldn't spend money on those products (even if I had wanted them).

The young man and the card table were situated between the two stores in which I planned to shop, and the odds were pretty high that he'd catch me en route to the second store.

Providence apparently had other plans. When I came out of store the first, the young man was so deeply involved with a cell phone conversation that he didn't notice me or anyone else passing by.

And yes, I did say thank you to Providence.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies