Becky Says...

December 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Of a Friday- December 1

This day is a lot of things. It's the first day of Holidailies 2006. It's the first day of the month. And it's World AIDS Day.

World AIDS Day is different for me this year. For the first time since the commemoration started, I have a close friend who is living with AIDS. As is often the case when a topic moves from the abstract to the personal, this topic and this day of commemoration have become what I can only describe as differently important.

What my friend, Francis-Maria, has to say in this post is something I definitely think you should read. Among other things, he makes some excellent suggestions for ways to commemorate the day.

As to the first of the month, well, I don't have anything particularly noteworthy to say about that. I did a lot of errands yesterday so that I could avoid doing them in the rain we're supposed to have today.

I enjoy walking home from the grocery store, but the part of the walk that's along an unpaved bike path is not a whole lot of fun on a rainy day.

And Holidailies. I'm so glad to be able to participate in it again. Each year it's fun to read entries by writers who are new to me, and to have some of my favorites who might not ordinarily write every day do so.

Welcome to those of you who have come here from that portal.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky

Holidailies