Becky Says...

September 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Story Unknown - September 6

When I go to downtown Chapel Hill, I keep an eye out for one of the street people, just to make sure he's all right. I have seen this man nearly every time I've been downtown in the last year or so.

He's an older gentleman, very tall and very thin. He carries his belongings with him for the most part, though occasionally he trusts someone else to look over them while he goes into one of the stores to make a purchase.

I think of him when it's cold or wet outside. I wonder if he goes to the local shelter or if he stays out, as some do, valuing the freedom of the street over the protection of the shelter.

I've never seen him ask for money. I don't know if he has funds of his own and chooses to spend his days on the street for some reason, or if he has regular benefactors and by the time I arrive his needs have been met.

Whatever his story, I am glad to see him when I am out and about. Though I don't know his name, I do know his smile. He shares it whenever we pass.

I wish him well.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky