Becky Says...

August 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Warmth - August 27

This summer, because of where I happen to be sitting most of the time, I wind up getting cold fairly often when the air conditioner comes on. No, it isn't that I have the temperature too low---it's just that I happen to be in the path of the cold air.

So I find myself keeping a favorite shawl handy. About a minute into the a/c cycle, when I realize I'm getting cold, I reach over and grab the shawl. And realize how weird it is to be wearing a wool shawl in high summer, often over a nightgown.

The shawl happens to be one of the first things I crocheted, many years ago. It isn't the best work I've ever done, by a long shot. But it remains a favorite piece, as much for the memories contained in its stitches as anything.

And it is warm and comfortable. It's also comforting, in part for all those memories...of spending time crocheting with my aunt and with a friend, of first realizing how fascinating it is to start with what amounts to a piece of string and make something out of it.

Nice when something can warm you, body and soul.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky