Becky Says...

August 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Gesture - August 8

Laura's memorial service was Sunday. People from several walks of her life were there, and some of her friends from message boards were able to attend. From all reports, the service was lovely and an excellent celebration of her life.

A while back, when Laura's cancer was first diagnosed, one of the members of The Usual Suspects invited those of us who had sent good wishes to Laura to go a little further. The person is a quilter, and offered that if we would send her pictures of whatever we wanted to share with Laura, she would make a comfort quilt of them. We did, she did, and Laura loved it.

When I was deciding what to send, I chose this shot, one my mother took for me of an azalea in our yard.

Daddy's Azalea

Mother and I always called the plant "Daddy's Azalea," because he had planted it after someone gave it to Mother. That the plant thrived and grew and bloomed like crazy every year always brought me a lot of good feelings, and I wanted to share them with Laura.

I hadn't thought about that quilt in a while. I didn't know that Laura had kept it close, but she had. Friends arranged for the quilt to be at the memorial service, since it had meant so much to Laura and reminded her of how many people cared.

And I suspect mine was not the only heart both warmed and broken by that gesture.

Rest in peace, Laura.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky