Becky Says...

June 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thoughts - June 2

I've spent some time this week watching the series that "Frontline" has done on AIDS. The series will be available online starting today.

Because I'm old enough that I remember a lot of the history involved, I particularly wanted to see this series. And I'm glad I've had the chance.

But it has been harder to watch than I would have thought.

Seeing the series brought back some memories, personal and political. And some of those political ones have pissed me off all over again.

I realize I have been extraordinarily blessed when it comes to AIDS. I have lost very few people to it, and my friends who currently have it are doing well enough with medications that they're living with, not dying from, AIDS.

I'm encouraged that research and education efforts continue. But I'm pissed that there is still so much stupidity surrounding it, both here in the US and in the rest of the world.

So I think that means the series did what it was intended to do...educate and make us think.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky