Becky Says...

March 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Card - March 24

I had one of those things happen today that's rattling. I was looking for something else and found a get-well card that had been sent to my mother by her friends at the rest home, while she was in the hospital following her third stroke.

I opened the card, took a moment to glance at the notes, then put it back where I had found it, since I needed to get on with the day.

So of course that card has been on my mind all day long. I remember the day it arrived. I remember Mother smiling when I read it to her, note by loving note. I remember the windowsill where I put the card, so that she could see it but it would not be in the way of those caring for her.

I remember all of us at that point hoping that Mother could be well enough to go back to that rest home, where she had been treated and cared for well.

And I remember the day I brought the card home, when Mother was transferred to another hospital for what we hoped would be longer-term care. Which is when I stored the card in the safe place I found it today.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky