Becky Says...

March 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Price - March 23

I've had my head in what I was working on most of the day today. One of the things I got done was setting the price for the repair work I mentioned on Tuesday. I sent e-mail to the potential customer, after review of the pictures she sent, to tell her that I could do the work, and what it would cost.

I am bad at making decisions about prices to charge people for repair work for knitted or crocheted pieces. I almost always come away from one of these gigs thinking I should have charged a hell of a lot more, especially when I'm repairing some priceless family heirloom that needs special knowledge of threads or yarns to repair.

I try to remember the wisdom of a friend who repairs office machines, who pointed out that when one paid for repairs one was paying also for the experience and knowledge, not just for materials and a perhaps short amount of time.

And I have to remember to ask for what I know it's worth, instead of letting the little voice in my head that asks, "Why would anyone want to pay you that much? What makes you think you have any talent for this work?" get into the equation.

That little self-doubt bitch has already cost me enough money!

This time, after careful consideration, and telling the self-doubt bitch that I do excellent work and she should shut up, I set a price I'm sure I won't regret.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky