Becky Says...

March 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Thoughts - March 5

A few thoughts on the situation I wrote of yesterday, of the young man who drove into The Pit on the UNC-CH campus, hitting nine people.

I think there is great mercy and grace in the fact that none of the people hit were seriously injured or killed. I think there is a high potential, as a friend mentioned, that the man is mentally ill and that his action is a manifestation of this rather than an attempt at terrorism.

This doesn't mean I think it would be fine to send him home totally free tomorrow after his court appearance. It means I think he needs help along with incarceration. I think that to put him in prison for however many years he could get for the crime is not the way to go here. And if evaluation proves me right, I hope he gets the help.

I am one of those people who tries very hard to look for reasons for people's actions. I make no bones about it. I also have had training in psychology and an interest in the subject that transcends the formal training. All of that leads me to where I am in my thoughts.

And when there is evidence of illness, I believe in providing treatment, including medication. I believe in the possibility of rehabilitation.

In case you're wondering, help for those in the UNC-CH community who have been affected by his actions (directly or indirectly) is available through the University's counseling resources. That's another reason I'm proud to be a Tar Heel.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky