Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Amusements of the Hunt - January 31

I'm still job-hunting, which is basically a full-time job in and of itself. I haven't heard again yet from the person who replied to my application last week, but I haven't given up hope on that one because of the wording of that reply. And there are other applications out, and no, I'm not going to talk about any of them.

Instead, I thought you might like to know a couple of the funnier aspects of this time in my life.

As part of the search process I signed up with two of the large job-finding sites. One of those has been the inadvertent source of amusement two times, but they have also sent very good leads, so I won't quibble about their having couple of bad keyword days. I just enjoyed the giggles.

The first of those was a message that included listing for a job completely outside my area of expertise. Instead of choosing from the keywords I had specified, they used my last name. It happens, with the first letter in lower-case, to be a trade.

I, who am much more likely to use the capital letter, am not by any means an expert in the trade. Nor do I have the higher-level tools of it, and the employer wanted those hired to bring their own (a reasonable request). So there's one for which I did not send out a resume.

The second time they had more of a bad map day. When I set up my profile on the site, I was asked to indicate how far I could commute, and I picked from their options. I definitely did not indicate a desire to travel several thousand miles (round trip).

I was, therefore, quite surprised to get a message from the site that included about thirty jobs in Arizona. No, these were not telecommuting positions; they required one's presence on-site in Phoenix. I don't think any of them paid well enough to include daily airfare...

If any of you would like to pass on job leads, please do so...I may not be able to commute to Arizona, but telecommuting is fine with me. And if you need me to do any freelance work, this is a good time to ask. Don't forget the new, minimal proofreading/copy-editing service!

And, as always, prayers and good wishes are appreciated.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky