Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Neighborhood News - January 17

One of the neighbors told me today that she's moving. She's not going far, but it will be far enough away that I won't get to see her on a daily basis anymore, and I'll miss that. We're not really close friends, but I've enjoyed the times we've chatted, and I've enjoyed getting to know her children.

Her main reason for wanting to move is that there was a crime out here a few weeks ago. It was a serious crime, a home invasion, in a building several up from mine. But it was in a building several away from mine, and frankly I'm not at all scared of having the same thing happen.

For one thing, I live on the front side of my building, and there are people coming and going all the time. Some of those people happen to be police officers patrolling the complex.

And truth be told, I have enough other stuff to worry about than whether or not someone might decide to commit a crime. I keep the doors and windows locked, and never ever answer the door without knowing who is on the other side. I do everything I can to keep myself safe. And after doing that, it really is out of my hands.

This is not intended to be a criticism of my neighbor who is moving. I know she is scared more for her children than for herself. I trust her judgment for herself and the children, and I wish them all well in their new home.

As to the home invaders from several weeks back, I hope they enjoy their new home too. It is one that has those fashionable barred windows, and is surrounded by some serious fencing material. They should be quite safe.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky