Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Celestial - January 13

In this entry, David writes of the night sky. It is beautifully written, and I hope you'll all take time to go read it.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Now to a totally different David. Today is the tenth anniversary of Planet SOMA. It was on its way to Anniversary Four when I first read entries there, in November 1999. I was fascinated with the whole thing.

One of the first things I knew about David was that he was (and is) an excellent writer. I sat down and read all the archives, and the more I read the more I knew I wanted to do something radical.

Radical for me was to write a letter to a stranger, in which I flatly announced the purpose of the letter was to apply for the position of new friend. I gave him some pertinent facts about me, those things I thought we had in common, to help him make his decision. A week or so later, he wrote back to tell me my application was accepted.

I'm so glad I did that radical thing. David is a great friend, a chosen brother, and one of the constants in my life. And I'm definitely glad he and Mark got married.

Through knowing David, I've come to know some other fascinating people, too. In fact, if I know you because you have or had a personal website, you have David to thank, because I followed links from his site that ultimately led me to the journals I read daily. And for that matter, he was one of several people whose influence helped me decide that I could do this journal thing, too.

So Happy Tenth Anniversary to Planet SOMA and its creator. May the future bring you many, many good things.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky