Becky Says...

January 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






An Idea - January 9

Today turned itself into a whirlwind of the good kind fairly early. I got a much-appreciated order for baby blankets and caps (not from the man who requested information last week, but from a friend whose extended family extended itself a little more last month) that definitely let me know the day was off to a good start.

Later in the day came thoughtful e-mail from two other friends, and even later came a trip downtown for errands.

The trip downtown was a good one, and with it came another business idea. While I was shopping, I came across a really badly-worded sign. It was at a cash register, and on first read seemed to announce that the store would not take other than dollar bills for payment. No change accepted.

I hoped that wasn't what they meant, because sometimes I have something that costs $1.01 and I really don't want to have to give them a second dollar when a penny will do. So I asked.

And the nice cashier told me the sign was aimed at people who come in wanting to trade their change for dollar bills. The store wants to direct people down the street to the bank, instead of having their cashiers have to deal with non-customers just wanting money changed. The store is still quite happy to accept coins in payment for merchandise.

The sign in the store really should have said, "We are no longer exchanging coins for dollar bills." It would have gotten their point across without making legitimate, coin-bearing customers feel awkward.

And I think I will start offering to translate signs or other brief messages for people, from gobbledy-gook into American English, for $5.00 a message. I think I'll make up a few business cards for this venture and go for it. If you're not local, but would like to hire me to do this, just write to me. I'll let you know where to send the payment.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky