Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Longing - November 29

A long time ago, a pastor I knew preached on the question John the Baptist is said to have asked Jesus: "Are you He who is to come, or shall we wait for another?" The question has one simple answer in context, but the pastor used it to introduce the topic of longing.

That this sermon has stuck with me for so long is no doubt connected to and indicative of incidents of longing in my life.

Back in those days, I was longing to finish college and get started doing something with my life. I had a grand plan (couldn't hear God laughing till later about that plan) that involved a husband and children and a good job. And well, one out of three ain't bad, but I do wish I had had the husband and the children.

Over the ensuing years I have longed for a lot. Usually not possessions, in case you wondered. I have longed for relief from painful situations, longed for certain relationships to strengthen, longed to go certain places and do certain things. And in many instances, those longings have been fulfilled.

I am once again feeling a sense of longing. I wrote to a friend tonight, and said I was restless. That and longing are the same thing, really. I said recently that I wanted my life back. That goes miles and miles beyond wanting to have a car and the freedom of moving about that would afford.

It also includes longing. My longing these days has to do with outlets for my various interests, mainly the creative ones. I'd like to find a few new outlets, and to better utilize the ones I have.

And that last thing is the first thing I can set as a goal.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky