Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Monday - November 28

I'm still on the mailing list for my Lutheran congregation in my hometown. I got the latest newsletter today, and found out that a church member had died earlier this month. She was old enough to be my mother--in fact, she'd had a daughter who was my age. The daughter died in a plane crash in 1996.

I don't want to mislead anyone; these were never close friends of mine, but were people I knew at church and who I saw there for choir rehearsals and youth meetings. In the natural order of things, we didn't keep in touch after I moved away.

Which is why I don't know the answer to something. The woman who died had had three children, the aforementioned daughter, and two sons. One of the sons was mentioned in the newsletter article, but not the other. I wonder if he moved away, or if he, too, has died. A quick search of the local paper's obituary section just gave me bare-bones information about the death and the funeral.

My curiosity about the matter isn't strong enough to warrant actually getting in touch with anyone there to ask, but I will keep eyes and ears open. And perhaps I'll remember to ask if I happen to be talking with someone from the congregation.

So that's the mystery of the day.

The rest of the day was non-mysterious. Work was busy, but not as much so as a usual post-holiday Monday, and that was good.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky