Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Pleasant - October 27

I ended yesterday's entry by saying. "I'm quite frankly dreading tomorrow." And I was. But it turned out to be a very pleasant day.

First of all, since all the attorneys were at continuing education and there was only one thing on my desk that had to be done today, I decided I could be seriously late to work. I sent e-mail to the office announcing that, then took my time doing a couple of chores and getting ready for work.

The bus ride to the office from downtown brought about the day's humor. The route out to the office from downtown takes quite a while because it winds through several neighborhoods and a business complex before it gets to my stop. By the way, the paving was finished so there was no detour today.

There is a rule that one can't ride more than one round trip on a given bus route (in other words, if you ride all the way around the route to where you got on, you have to get off). The stop for my office is well past the half-way point of the route.

So when we got to the stop just before mine, and I was still on the bus, the driver looked at me and said, "Ma'am, are you lost?"

I told the driver that I wasn't lost, and in fact wanted the next stop. When we reached it, I got off and headed to the office. But I wondered if the driver thought I was trying to save face and only got off the bus to keep her from making me get off once we reached downtown.

When I got to the office, Kathy and I had some time to talk. I told her about my exchange with the bus driver, and went on to say that when I took over the world the first thing I was going to do was revamp that route. Once that was done, I'd tackle other matters in need of solutions, like disease, world hunger, poverty, and peace.

The logic is that I already know how I'd revamp that route, but I lack the authority to do so.

Of course, the proper thing to do after coming in late is leaving early, so I did just that. Kathy gave me a ride to the grocery store, and I got the things I needed. I had a pleasant walk home, with daylight to spare.

After yesterday and earlier in the week, pleasant was exactly what I needed.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky