Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Conversation - October 10

I went outside to smoke at some point this afternoon and had the day's most fun conversation with a stranger on our sidewalk. A woman was walking along peering at the signs on the buildings. When she got to me, she said, "Is this what I'm looking for?"

But she was talking to herself. I looked at her and asked her what she was looking for, and her response was, "An attorney."

It was pretty obvious that she had gotten caught in that mind warp between talking to herself and talking to another human being. I was prepared with a follow-up question if I needed it, but instead of asking it I gave her a moment to collect her wits and then said, "Well, we have quite a few of them out here."

She smiled and said she thought the one she wanted was in the next office, and headed in that direction. She apparently recognized the name on the sign next door, and went in. A minute or so later she emerged from the office, carrying an envelope, so I believe her mission was accomplished.

I got another smile from her as she passed. And everyone in our office got a good laugh from the story.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky