Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Forties - October 4

Someone asked a question recently, about aging. She is turning forty this year, and asked those of us who had passed that particular milestone to speak to the age and to how we felt about it. I thought about it for a day, then replied. I thought you might like to read a slightly-edited version of what I wrote:

I passed forty a milestone ago. It was during the time I was back in my hometown dealing with my mother's illness, and the day itself was not a particularly memorable one except that Mother had broken her hearing aid and most of the day was conducted in high volume.

I didn't dread the age.

I have pretty much lived my life in an age warp...my parents were in their forties when I was born, and I am an only child, so from the beginning I spent most of my time around older people. Nowdays, my friends include people from all age groups, and I really enjoy that diversity. And based on that, I tend to think of myself as ageless.

That decade was a one of major change in my life, some good (getting a job I love, starting an online journal, and making some close friends, for three), some not so (my mother's illness and death).

And it was also a time of starting to come to a much greater understanding of myself, which is definitely a blessing. I learned more of what I want from the rest of my life, and what I definitely do not want. That information has led me to make some changes, and has laid the groundwork for some future plans.

All in all, it was quite a decade.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky