Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Weird - October 3

Today was the day of the weird. The first clue to this was when I was walking to the bus stop downtown and a man was using his cane as a baton, alternating between twirling it and using it to lead his own imaginary parade.

Having made sure I was out of reach of an errant twirl, I looked up to see him staring at me and saying, "Yes! I love you!" Which was followed by a huge smile. I decided the only possible way to keep from being engaged in conversation at that point was to smile myself and walk faster.

I got to work and found most of the paper in the nation piled in my inbox, in the form of mail. The weird continued. The mail contained one advertisement for labor law posters addressed to me as "owner/manager" of the law firm, and a companion piece asking Associate 1 to replace the office's telephone service. I went to see her with both pieces of mail in my hand, and said, "I don't know how this happened exactly, but you and I are now running the firm."

We had an executive meeting there on the spot, decided we liked things the way they were, and since I was walking past the thing anyway, elected me to place the two aforementioned advertisements in the office shredder.

Next up was the piece of mail with the firm's name and address handwritten in black ink, but the words, "New Client" written in red. It turned out that was an advertisement from a company hoping to make us become new clients. We won't be doing business with them.

Believe it or not, there was some real mail to be read and sorted and filed and replied to as needed. That's how I spent the rest of the afternoon. After work, I didn't notice anything weird on my way home. Just the ordinary.

Which was definitely what I needed.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky