Becky Says...

September 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Lazing - September 4

In case you're guessing this has been a lazy day, you're right. I slept late, then napped on top of that. It's been nice to have an extra day to do very little.

Not that I particularly want to go anywhere tomorrow that isn't in walking distance, but I was pleased to see that the bus system plans to run its Saturday schedule for the day. Labor Day is usually one of the holidays when there is no service. I'm not sure why they decided to change their normal pattern, but I'm glad.

I rarely have ever gone away for Labor Day. I tend to use that extra day off to get some things done around my apartment. This year, I need to do some freelance work, to get it out of the way. It's the kind of work I might just take outside to do.

I don't spend a whole lot of time outside. I never have, really. Most of the things I really enjoy doing are indoor things. But every once in a while, I get the urge to go sit on the porch, usually to read or to do some handwork. The freelance thing is some handwork, and the more I think about it, the more I do think it will be pleasant to take that outside to do.

Back in earlier days, if I sat on the porch I would leave the living room window open so I could hear the phone. These days, the cell phone goes with me and the answering machine can deal with any other calls. I keep up with most of my friends, even the local ones, by e-mail, so I doubt there will be much phone traffic.

So I'm planning a low-key day, with some freelance work and some housework, and if I just have to get some travel done, I'll take the bus downtown.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky