Becky Says...

September 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






More Thoughts - September 3

Some not totally cohesive thoughts about Katrina's aftermath.

I hate that a storm has caused so much damage. I hate that the damage will have repercussions far beyond the immediate area. I hate that so many people are scared and homeless and jobless. I hate that there is so much frustration and anger. I understand it, but I hate it.

Many people have been pondering whether or not they have the inner strength to take in strangers who need housing in the aftermath of the storm. It is a hard decision to make, and one I'm glad I don't have facing me---I don't have room for anyone else. I don't know what I would do if I were faced with the decision.

One very nice thing: my local grocery store has a means to let people make donations to the Red Cross during the check-out process. It's easier to do that than to donate online. I suspect a lot of other stores have similar things set up.

My sympathies tonight are with those who have made it through the storm and are struggling to find something normal. Most of those people will be in survival mode for a long time to come. In case you didn't know it, survival is hard work. When you go into survival mode, that's where almost all your energy goes. No matter what else you're doing, it is pretty much background to surviving.

You do, however, wind up finding strength you never knew you had. Physical and psychological strength. And that strength will serve these people well.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky