Becky Says...

July 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Introspection and Craziness - July 30

This has been a time of introspection for me. Among other things, I've been thinking about friendships, and acquaintanceships that I had hoped would become friendships but which won't, and about how people who don't pay attention can come to the wrong conclusions very quickly.

Related to the comment about conclusions, a public service announcement: if you are in a corresponding relationship with an online journaller, particularly with one who doesn't notify you of new posts, please, before you hit the send button on an e-mail message to the person, go check the journaller's site for the latest post. It might just make you rewrite the message. That's a rule I made for myself a long time ago, and it has served me well.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Friday was a crazy day at the law firm. For most of the afternoon, Younger Partner and I were there on our own, and I think somehow word of that got out. That's the only reason I can think of that everyone who had ever considered calling a law firm called, and a few others came by, as well.

Comic relief for the afternoon was the telephone directory delivery man. He was not at all sure we were the law firm I said we were, but since the name was, after all, on the door, he decided I might be telling the truth. This led him to leave with me the firm's copies of the new directory.

But then he was sure that our back door was indeed another firm entirely. Trouble is, that door does not have any firm name on it (we strongly discourage people from entering through that door). Younger Partner was doing his best to convince the man that we had just received our directories, but it wasn't until I made an appearance and agreed with Younger Partner that the man was willing to leave without dropping off another stack.

In a final burst of craziness, a client called with a problem that made me scramble to find information and Younger Partner have to make an unscheduled trip to the bank. When he got back, we agreed that the office was closed for the day. Neither one of us had enough wits left to do otherwise.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky