Becky Says...

July 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






This Night - July 22

As I write this, the friend I mentioned last week is dying. She is not expected to live through the night. Her condition, which had been stable yesterday, took a downward turn this afternoon.

Her family is with her, and all that can be done to ease her on her way is being done.

For her sake, I am grateful that there will not be much more pain.

Tonight, in our respective locations, those of us who know this woman are doing deathwatch. Various ones of us are relaying pieces of news as they become available. One calls, one sends e-mail.

I cringe whenever the happy piece of Bach that is the ringtone on my cell phone sounds, because this night it signals sadness and grief.

But the silence is louder.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky