Becky Says...

July 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Bit More - July 17

A few more comments about last night.

I realized I didn't actually say whether or not I like Patrick's play, Hit Me. I do like it, and definitely think that TeKay and the two actors he directed (Joe Brack and Scott Franco) did an excellent job with it.

There is a lot of violence in it. I knew that from Patrick's description and from subsequently reading the play for myself. But the why behind the violence fascinates me. And that's all I'm going to say, because I don't want to spoil it. If you get a chance to see it, please do. (Hey, locals: 10 X 10 continues this coming weekend).

The other plays were an interesting mix. I was particularly touched by E M Lewis' Dress Black, in which a part of the grieving process usually never spoken of or seen is portrayed quite eloquently. There were a couple of plays that I thought were exercises in cleverness, and I don't completely mean that as a compliment. Several, I would love to see again.

I continue to be blown away at how all the people involved in these works can do such intricate, fascinating things in ten minutes. I'm glad I can be an audience member.

And I'm very, very glad that I have such talented friends.

* * * * * * * * * * *

For me, this day has been a lazy one. There wasn't a whole lot I just had to do, so otherwise I just didn't. I did put some thought into some future projects of my own, in terms of making things in my apartment be more convenient. But I wasn't quite motivated enough to get up and go put some action with the thoughts. That will come.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky