Becky Says...

July 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Events of the Day - July 7

I don't have much to say about the bombings in London. Terrorism, no matter who the terrorists are, strikes me as being a selfish and very bad way to make a point. My sympathies tonight are with those who have lost loved ones and those who were injured. The one online buddy I have in London had to run an errand on her way to work this morning, otherwise she would have been in harm's way.

I happened to have just read John Bailey's joyful entry in which he wrote of the Olympics coming to London when I went to a local television station's site for my morning dose of news and saw the horribleness. The timing on those two things will stay with me a long, long time.

* * * * * * * * * *

The law firm has new pets. These are of the stuffed variety, and consist of one dog and one cat. It was decided around lunchtime this afternoon that our side of the office complex needed pets of its very own, so they were acquired. They were brought in to meet me as soon as they arrived. And they are now keeping watch over the photocopier.

We also have two tigers in residence, of the stuffed variety. They've been around for several years, and live on top of the grouped inboxes in the hallway. They will no doubt teach the new critters the ways of the law firm in the nighttime hours, and Zoe, the very real Golden Retriever who is the law firm boss, will make sure they mind their manners during the workday.

* * * * * * * * * *

Because I have plans for after work tomorrow, I did my end-of-week grocery shopping today on my way home. The weather was threatening to get stormy as I was walking home from the store, but it did not start to rain until I was safely home. I'm taking that as another one of those good omens.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky