Becky Says...

May 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Soap - May 1

Today was much like yesterday, except I did need to leave the apartment for a few minutes, to walk down to the rental office to drop off my May rent check. I suppose the management wouldn't have minded had I waited till tomorrow, but I've had a years-long habit of going ahead and dropping off the check on its due date of the first, even if it is a weekend day (there's a slot in the door for placing payments if the office is closed), and it's a habit I don't want to break.

I've tried very hard to be good to my back this weekend, because I know I'm going to have to ask it to do some extra work tomorrow. Mondays have become grocery-shopping days, so there's the potential to have to stand still. My back hates standing still.

I've tried very hard to be good to the rest of me this weekend, because I know I'm going to have to ask me to do extra things this week. In part, of course, because I took the weekend off from much of anything around the apartment that I should have done. But if I want to wash my hands in mid-chores, I'm prepared. I did get the soap containers refilled.

I decided long ago to save myself lots of frustration when it came to refilling soap containers. I don't try pouring from the half-gallon economy size bottle of soap directly into the two containers I have in the kitchen and the bathroom. Instead, I use a funnel. It usually takes two fills of the funnel to refill either of the containers, and no mess is made.

I know a lot of people think it's quite easy to pour from the large bottle into the small ones, but for me it means holding something fairly heavy in a hand that's prone to tendonitis, and standing still while pouring (see above re: backache). And there's always the potential, at least for me, of a soapy counter to contend with if the soap in the large bottle exercises its gravity-given right to come out faster than the smaller bottle can handle the intake part.

Given that much potential mess, I'd much rather take a minute at the end of refill time to wash the soap out of the funnel. As I'm sure you've figured out, that's the easiest part. After all, there's already soap...

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky