Becky Says...

April 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Randomness - April 25

Today is the first day in over a month that it hasn't been crazy-busy at work. I had plenty to do, but I had plenty of time to get it done. That was very pleasant!

* * * * * * * * * * *

My bank merged with another one, and took the other's name. The last bits of the name change happened over the weekend, including new debit/automated teller machine cards. A letter that came with the new card included activation instructions (which I followed), and a warning that one shouldn't destroy the old card till the new card had been used. So today I decided to use my new card in a familiar place.

I needed to do my errands after work, and went first to the drugstore. I knew the clerk, so I told her I was using the new card there for the first time since I knew I'd be less embarrassed to have a card fail in a place where I'd be believed about why. Also, I had enough cash on me to pay for what I wanted in that store. Turned out the new card worked just fine.

Earlier in the day I had gone to the new bank website. Turned out they wanted user names of a certain length, which my earlier one had not been. I thought about it a few seconds, and realized that what I had been using for a password would be a fine user name. Then, looking at their requirements for password length, I realized the old user name would do just fine as a password. I think the main reason I'm posting this is so if I forget what I've done, I'll have a handy reminder!

* * * * * * * * * * *

Something I figured out over the weekend: all my old AOL screen names are still mine for instant messaging. I thought they were gone after I closed the account, but for the heck of it I tried one. Still there, still had the buddy list and everything. So I've spent some time tonight putting those names back in my list. I don't do a whole lot of instant messaging, but it's nice to be able to do so with all my old familiar names.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've had some lovely mail from readers about the milestone entry. I appreciate the support and sympathy. I realized tonight when I was writing to a friend that one of the reasons the milestone was so difficult was Daddy's absence. He wasn't around to tell me I am doing a good job with my life, even though to the depths of my soul I do think he would say that if he were here.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky