Becky Says...

April 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Words - April 17

Your Linguistic Profile:
45% General American English
30% Dixie
20% Yankee
5% Upper Midwestern
0% Midwestern

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

I learned about the above quiz from Nels. And I'm posting it with the caveat that some of the questions may not have the answers you would give. For instance, what I really call a sweetened, carbonated beverage is a soft drink, and that wasn't an option.

Anyway, it was fun to see that I have so much non-Southern in my vocabulary. Not surprising, really, since I've spent a lot of time with people from all over the place.

And that reminds me of one of my favorite stories. Two people who hadn't known each other very long were at an informal dinner party at which I was also a guest. One of those people was from Pennsylvania, and the other from Alabama.

Came time for coffee to be served, and the cream was in a very pretty, plain white creamer. Pennsylvania picked it up and poured from it, then headed toward the kitchen, saying, "This creamer is tacky. I'll be right back."

Alabama looked at me, and said, "What on earth could be tacky about that creamer? It's plain white and it has a simple shape."

My inner Yankee knew the answer, and I was happy to clear up the confusion. The creamer was what Alabama or I probably would have called "sticky." Pennsylvania, returning to us with a wiped-off creamer, agreed.

As I've said any number of times, gotta love those regional differences!

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky