Becky Says...

April 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Four Parts - April 6

My sympathy to Patrick and his family in the death of their much-loved dog, Trooper. The link will take you to Patrick's tribute to him.

I know how hard it is to make the decision to have a dog euthanized. I've been in on such decision-making sessions a few times, and no matter how much it's the right, loving thing to do for the animal, the decision hurts like hell.

* * * * * * * * * * *

At the law firm, tax season is winding down. Actually, because we work with both businesses and estates, we do have tax returns going out all during the year, but not at the pace they've been going the last several weeks.

We have gone through several cases of copy paper this year, making client and file copies of the returns. I have gone through several containers of paper clips, and have re-inked my "file" and "copy" stamps at least once each. And large envelopes are a hot commodity in our supply area. I think the office supply store must wonder if I'm running a side business as an envelope reseller.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I found out tonight that I will definitely be doing the repair work on the crocheted mats for the woman who asked about it last week. She had had trouble sending a digital picture until today.

I could tell from the picture that the damage will not be that hard to repair, and based on that, I was able to give her a price that was within what she thought was reasonable, so the mats (there are two, both with a tiny bit of damage in their borders) should be on their way to me soon.

I'm excited about doing the work. As I mentioned, I like doing that sort of repair work because it's a restoration to wholeness. In this case, it's a family heirloom that needs the restoration---the woman who wrote to me said at the time that her mother had made them, and tonight she said she plans to had the set down to her daughter. I like tradition and continuity, too.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Finally, the bit quoted below is from a message I got this afternoon, for the Rebeccaworks site, asking for a link. The quote is as I received it, complete with errors.

"Dear sir,
i was surfing the net and came across your website.I noticed it was a
quality site and decided to include a link in my
[site URL omitted] list on my similarly related websites.
I beleive our websites compliment each other well and would
appreciate it
if you could link back to me."

Umm, no, I won't. Our sites in no way "compliment" each other (heck, they don't even complement each other). The site the writer requested I link to is a fan site for a football player. I did almost write back with a price quote for proofreading...

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky