Becky Says...

April 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Tar Heel Dazed - April 5

The text color changes in the body of this entry are not links.

I am always, always proud to be a Tar Heel, but there are days when that pride is hard to keep to myself.

Like this one.

The UNC Tar Heels won the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship last night. They haven't done this since 1993, and in this part of the world, the win is cause for celebration.

The team has had its ups and downs in the last few years, and several coaching changes to add to the confusion. They have worked hard to get to this high point, and I'm proud of them for the perseverance.

And so are a lot of people. Some friends of mine were in the mob scene in downtown Chapel Hill after the game. Needless to say, since that foursome were joined by forty-some thousand of their fellow revelers, I didn't see them on television.

It was really fun to hear a first-person account of the crowd from one of the friends. When I had a chance to talk with him this afternoon, the excitement at being part of the crowd was still with him. So was a tiny bit of Carolina blue paint, found on his watchband. He scraped it off as we talked.

The celebration continued today, when the team got back to campus. Most of the people I saw today were a little dazed, perhaps from lack of sleep last night, and from recounting moments of the game. That recounting and the happiness will continue for some time.

Some parts of life, however, will likely return to normal tomorrow. I might even quit using Carolina blue highlights in the middle of journal entries. But I expect it's going to take me a few days to quit humming bits of Carolina songs...

Text � copyright 2000-2005 Becky