Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Different Seconds - March 12

There have been two times this week when I could have been in automobile accidents if the timing had been just slightly different.

The first of those incidents was one night on the way home from work. I was about a mile from my apartment when the minivan in front of me slammed on brakes. I did likewise, being grateful that I learned long ago to leave adequate stopping distance. I wondered why the other driver needed to make the abrupt stop, but it soon became clear.

There were two fawns who decided they needed to cross the road. One had run in front of the minivan, was safely across, and was heading into the woods. The other was still on the departure side of the road, and may have been given some instruction from his mother about traffic, because it looked for the world like he was waiting for all the cars to pass before darting out.

It had been a long-enough day, so I was glad the episode was one without impact. A few seconds different and the outcome probably would not have been the same.

The second incident, yesterday, was scarier, because it involved not an observant fawn but an idiot. Said idiot was driving a (different) minivan, and decided her wanting to be in the shopping center parking lot was the single-most important thing going on at that moment.

I was on my way to work, and had just begin to accelerate to go up a slight hill. The driver I'm calling idiot was heading in the opposite direction, and was in the left-turn lane. Idiot apparently wasn't paying attention to oncoming traffic as carefully as would have been wise, and proceeded to make the turn. I was paying attention, and was grateful not only for my reflexes but also for my brakes. A split second different and I would have t-boned the minivan.

My brakes and I are glad that subsequent outings have been without incident.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky