Becky Says...

March 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Doughy Matters - March 2

With a little help from Golden Retriever Zoe, Wendy gave me a fun new name this afternoon. When they were out doing the mail run, Zoe wasn't at all sure she was ready to come back into the office. It was a sunny, breezy day, and Zoe was enjoying the scents and sights and people she was meeting.

But Wendy was getting chilly, and had some work she needed to get finished. So she really wanted to come back inside. Once inside, the usual routine is that Zoe comes to Aunt Becky (that would be me) for dog biscuits. Because as you all know, the dog would starve absolutely to death if I didn't hand over the treats. At least that's Zoe's version of it.

Wendy wanted to get the dog's mind on something besides the great outdoors, and quickly. She looked at Zoe, who was poised to walk on past the office, and said, "Let's go inside and see Aunt Biskie!" Thus was my new name created.

In other news, I learned tonight that sometimes journal material falls into your lap. Or at least falls into your laptop's e-mail inbox.

I was chatting with Patrick about writing, when lo and behold, I had mail! I got a request for help from Howie. Apparently he really wanted me to take it seriously; he sent four copies.

Howie allowed as to how I'd never heard of him before and that he lived in Canada. Then he launched into his request.

It seems that Howie needs money. He's in debt and even though he works he isn't making enough money to pay off the debt. He doesn't want my life savings, but wouldn't I like to send him a couple of bucks? He even includes a handy online account to receive my gift.

Now Zoe's Aunt Biskie may be a soft touch, but not that soft. Nor do I have any spare money. So, Howie? No, I won't be sending you any money. However, if you're in the neighborhood, drop by. Zoe might be willing for you to have a dog biscuit, once she's had hers.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky