Becky Says...

January 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Valuable Laziness - January 30

This part of the state did indeed get lucky enough to avoid the worst of the icy stuff. We are east of the worst of it, but close enough to it to count our blessings.

Even though we didn't have icy weather, and the temperature warmed enough that the last batch of last night's ice melted fairly early in the day, it seemed that most of us who live in the apartment complex decided to stay home anyway. I heard very little traffic, and even the kids down the porch weren't outside. I think we were all practicing hibernation.

I can think of a lot of things I could have done today. I could have finished my taxes. I could have cleaned up the living room. I could have vacuumed. But no, I was lazy. I decided that washing the dishes and doing some hand laundry was enough activity. Oh, and doing some bits of spam-proofing and tiny copy edits on my Rebeccaworks site.

One amusing thing: in looking through the subject lines before deleting the spam, I decided the the best one of the batch was, "Don't open this." I'm sure that was supposed to be reverse psychology, but I didn't need to fall for it, so I did as I was instructed and didn't open it.

Then the quietness of the day encouraged some contemplation, and some reading, and ultimately some napping. Not a whole lot to write about, but a valuable, lazy day nonetheless.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky